Print This Article

Restrict Access & Completion Tracking: Student Must Submit File to Move on

These steps require that completion tracking be enabled in your course.

NOTE: You can’t automatically check to ensure your student’s upload the CORRECT file, but you can require that at least something is submitted before they can move on.
We strongly that advise you do not use submission of a file as an item to be completed before, say, an answer key is provided as students can submit an empty file to then see answers in the following file in such a setup.

Locate and enter the Assignment activity you want to require students make a submission to before moving on.

Locate the Actions menu (gear icon) and click the Edit settings link.

Expand the Availability section and ensure that there is NO Cut-off date set.

NOTE: Feel free to set a due date as it will not prevent submissions but just mark them as late. Setting a cut-off date will, on failing to complete an assignment on time create an impassable barrier to students doing any other work in the course potentially.

Expand the Activity completion section.

Set Completion tracking to Show activity as complete when conditions are met.

Check the Student must submit to this activity to complete it check-box.

NOTE: this will NOT check for file types or content- a student could update a JPG image or an empty file when you’re asking for a PDF document and it would check this activity off and let that student progress.

Scroll down to the bottom of the page.

Click the Save and return to course button.

Locate the Activity or section/topic in your course that you want to ONLY be available after a student has submitted a file to the chosen Assignment activity.

NOTE: Ensure that this following content not be something sensitive such as a self-grading answer key to previous assignments as a student can upload ANY file to the assignment with manual completion tracking to then unlock this sensitive information.

If Editing is turned on, click the Edit menu and click the Edit Settings link.

OR

Click into the activity or resource and from the Actions menu (gear icon) click the Edit settings link.

Scroll down to and expand the Restrict Access section.

Click the Add restriction button.

From the popup list select the Activity completion option- it should be at the top.

Ensure that Access restrictions are set to:

  • Student must match the following
  • Ensure the eye icon is open and set to “Displayed greyed-out if user does not meet this condition – click to hide”
    (that way students can see that there is more to do and what is required to access it.)
  • Select our quiz activity from the drop down list.
  • ensure that the last drop down has must be complete with pass grade selected

Scroll to the bottom of the page.

Click the Save and return to course button.

With restrict access applied you should see the activity greyed out and a note for students as to what needs to be done first.

Print This Article