Setting up an Incomplete Course

At the end of each term a teacher is responsible for hiding their finished course from students. In cases where an incomplete has occurred you may want to leave the course open but this effects all of your students which not ideal so we suggest the creation of an Incomplete course copy and ISPD staff are happy to help with this if you need it.

Courses left open after the term is over that are not labeled as INCOMPLETE may be hidden by ISPD staff after a time or at the request of enrolled students.

Creating an INCOMPLETE Moodle course for a student:

You will need a staging area for this process, if you do not have one or are not sure, contact the ISPD dept and we can either do it for you or provide you with a staging area of your own.

Hide your current course once the term is officially over.
This is to prevent other students from continuing to have access to the course and ensuring that your incomplete student will be clear on where they are to continue doing their work.

Enter the course that has the incomplete.

Open the Actions menu (gear icon).

Select the  the Backup item

The Initial Settings page will load.

Leave all the settings in their default.

Scroll to the bottom of the page.

Click the Jump to final step button.

Wait a moment for the backup process to complete.

Once it is finished, you will be taken to the Complete screen.

 

Once done, click the Continue button to proceed.

On the following page under the Course backup area look for the most recent backup of this course.

Click the associated Restore link.

Scroll to the bottom of the next page.

Click the Continue button.

On the next page there should be multiple forms to choose from. You want to use the Top-most one called Restore as a new course

If you do not have this option then you do not have the needed permissions for your staging area and you should contact ISPD and let them know!

Click the Restore as a new Course radio button.

If there are many options.enter your name, Lastname, Firstname in the search box and click the Search button.

Click the radio button for your staging area.

Click the nearest Continue button 

Click the checkbox for Restore as manual enrollments.

Leave all other settings as-is.

Scroll to the bottom of the page and click the Next button.

 

Scroll to the bottom of the page and click the Next button.

Scroll to the bottom of the page and click the Perform restore button.

Wait for the bar to fill and the next page will load automatically.

Click the Continue button to move on, we’ve only a few more steps to go!

Once in the new course, open the Nav Drawer (three horizontal line icon in the top-left corner)

Select the Participants item.

Everyone who was in your normal class should be in this one too but now as Manual enrollments so you can remove the students who are done and leave only those who need more time and yourself.

For every student who is not an instructor or in need of an incomplete click the corresponding Unenroll button (trashcan icon) from the Enrollment Methods column.

Confirm this removal by clicking the Continue button.

Repeat the above two steps until all users are removed EXCEPT yourself (the teacher) and any students that you have granted with an incomplete.

Make the new, Incomplete course visible and inform your student(s) so they can finish their work.

Incomplete policies change from department to department. Check with your dept chair or handbook for full rules on incomplete policies as they refer to your course and which students are eligible for the added time to complete a course.