Managing Kaltura Multimedia

Home > Managing Kaltura Multimedia

Kaltura is our long-term storage for multimedia at the college. All videos recorded to the Zoom Cloud will automatically upload to Kaltura once they are processed. You can also manually upload videos recorded with other tools.

NOTE: We recommend that you rename and/or edit any videos in Kaltura since ALL Zoom Cloud recordings will be removed after 90 days.

Renaming a Video

When a video is uploaded to Kaltura, the video will use the original filename or the Zoom Meeting topic. These names are typically not very descriptive; we highly recommend that you rename your videos so you can easily identify their content at a later date.

Log into MediaSpace (video.clackamas.edu) or Moodle (online.clackamas.edu) and go to My Media.

NOTE: My Media is located under the profile menu in MediaSpace, and on the red bar in Moodle.

Click on the Pencil icon next to the video you wish to rename.

Select the Details tab.

Enter the video Name in the text box.

NOTE: You may also wish to include a Description and Tags to make your video easier to identify and search.

Click the Save button.

Delete a Video

Although there is no limit to how many videos you can have in Kaltura, you may want to delete videos that you are no longer using or that have errors.

NOTE: When you delete a video from Kaltura, the video will move to the Recycle Bin. If you do not restore the video within 30 days, it will be deleted permanently.

Log into MediaSpace (video.clackamas.edu) or Moodle (online.clackamas.edu) and go to My Media.

NOTE: My Media is located under the profile menu in MediaSpace, and on the red bar in Moodle.

Check all the checkboxes to the left for the videos you wish to delete.

Click to open the Actions menu near the top and select Delete.

Click the Delete button.

NOTE:  If you delete anything in error, these videos can be found in the Recycle bin for 30-days.

You can also delete a single video by clicking on the trash can to the right of the video you wish to get rid of.

Restoring a video from Recycle Bin

If you have accidentally deleted a video from your My Media (either in MediaSpace or Moodle), the deleted video will remain in the Recycle Bin for 30 days. You may restore that video back to your My Media within that timeframe.

Log into MediaSpace (video.clackamas.edu) or Moodle (online.clackamas.edu).

In MediaSpace, click on the Profile menu.

Select My Recycle Bin.

In Moodle, click on My Media from the red bar.

Click the My Recycle Bin button.

Click on the Restore icon next to the video you wish to restore.

Click the Restore button.

NOTE: The video will reappear in both MediaSpace and Moodle.

Downloading a Video

If you have a student who needs access to a video offline, you may wish to download the video; students cannot download videos themselves.

Log into MediaSpace (video.clackamas.edu) or Moodle (online.clackamas.edu) and go to My Media.

NOTE: My Media is located under the Profile menu in MediaSpace, and on the red bar in Moodle.

Click on the Pencil icon next to the video you wish to download.

Click the Downloads tab.

Select the Source checkbox next to Available Formats.

Click the Save button.

Click the Go to Media option.

Click the Download tab.

Click the download arrow under Actions to download the video file to your computer.

NOTE: If you’re unsure where the download file is saved, check the Downloads folder on your local computer.