Setting up an Incomplete Course

Home > End Of Term Checklist > Setting up an Incomplete Course

At the end of each term, your course will automatically hide on the course end date listed in Moodle. However, if you have a student who has received an incomplete, you may want to leave the course open—which affects all of your students. Instead, OLET suggests you create an Incomplete course for the student to use.

Incomplete policies change from department to department. Check with your deptartment chair or handbook for incomplete policies as they refer to your course and which students are eligible for the added time to complete a course.

Creating an INCOMPLETE Moodle course:

You will need a staging area for this process. If you do not have one or are not sure, please submit a ticket to OLET via Online Learning/Moodle Support.

Once the term is officially over, verify that your course is hidden.
This is to prevent other students from accessing the course and to ensure that the correct student knows where to continue with the incomplete work.

Scroll to the top of the main page of your course.

Click the More option from the secondary navigation.

Select Course reuse.

From the drop-down menu, select the Backup option.

The Initial Settings page will load.

Leave all the settings in their default.

Scroll to the bottom of the page.

Click the Jump to final step button.

Wait a moment for the backup process to complete.

Once it is finished, you will be taken to the Complete screen.

Once done, click the Continue button to proceed.

On the following page under the Course backup area, look for the most recent backup of this course.

Click the associated Restore link.

Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on the Continue button.

There will be multiple forms available on the next page.

Click the Restore as a new Course radio button.

If there are many options, enter your name (Lastname, Firstname) in the search box and click the Search button.

Click the radio button for your staging area.

Click the nearest Continue button.

From the Include enrolment methods drop-down menu, select No, restore users as manual enrollments.

Leave all other settings as-is.

Scroll to the bottom of the page and click the Next button.

Add INC to the Course name and Course short name to distinguish it from the original course.

Scroll to the bottom of the page and click the Next button.

Scroll to the bottom of the page and click the Perform restore button.

Wait. Once the course has been restored, the next page will load automatically.

Click the Continue button.

Verify you are in the new course.

Select Participants from the secondary navigation.

Everyone who was in your normal class should be in this one too but now as Manual enrollments so you can remove the students who have completed the course.

For every student who is not an instructor or in need of an incomplete click the checkbox next to their name.

Use the With selected users… drop-down to choose the Delete selected user enrolments option.

To allow your student to get to work you need to make the incomplete course visible, edit the due dates for the assignments your student needs to complete, and then notify the course is ready.

It should show up on the students My courses page for them to access once the course is visible.